Tis’ The Season…

img_0907-2We are in the midst of the holiday season, and what better time to give to those in need?

I feel lucky to have 3 classes that I enjoy teaching so much, especially  when the students have such big hearts.  Recently I was approached by a fifth grade student (Kaitlin Trudeau) who asked me help her to make a difference in the world. As a teacher (and a person) I felt a small part of me melt inside. She asked me if it would be possible to raise money for the Jimmy Fund along with Dana Farber to help raise money to help fight cancer.

Instantly I put my lunch down and we started to research ways to connect BES with these charities. After some hard research, we were able to get in touch with the Jimmy Fund and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and they have sent us twelve official canisters for anyone within the school (or even outside the school, parents, outside friends or family) to donate money.

We have already started the fundraising with only one jar in my classroom visible! I am overwhelmed by the amount of kindness and the investment the students have shown already. All the fifth grade classes have offered to make at least one poster if not more to help raise awareness .

In addition, I am offering my prep time during recess for anyone who would like to stay in and make posters to hang throughout the school. Fifth graders may also be popping by other classrooms to explain the importance of donating money to such an important cause. Let’s continue to make a difference, every donation can help to save a life.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or comments.

As always, thank you for your support.

Ms. Burger

Leave a Reply

